Look for God like a man with his head on fire looks for water

It wasn’t hallucinogenic, what I was feeling.  It was the most basic of events.  It was heaven, yes.  It was the deepest love id ever experienced, beyond anything I could have previously imagined, but it wasn’t euphoric.  It wasn’t exciting.  There wasn’t enough ego or passion left in me to create euphoria and excitement.  It was just obvious.  Like when you’ve been looking at an optical illusion for a long time, straining your eyes to decode the trick, and suddenly you cognizance shifts and there – now you can clearly see it! – the two vases are actually two faces.  And once you’ve seen through the optical illusion, you can never not see it again.
“So this is God,” I thought.

~Eat Pray Love, Elizabeth Gilbert

Sometimes someone sneaks into your world and carries with them the ability to describe an object, a time, or a feeling that you have never yet been able to put words too yourself; Elizabeth Gilbert is this to me.  This is now my billionth time reading Eat Pray Love and I find the author has this beautiful way of mastering my own thoughts that just couldn’t quite escape into paper to form a cognitive sentence themselves.  If you havent read this book, do it!  I read few books over and over and this one never seems to grow old for me.

Image found on weheartit.com

3 Comments

Filed under Personal

3 responses to “Look for God like a man with his head on fire looks for water

  1. One of my all time faves Jenelle, except it is getting quite worn through the years.
    Did you know it’s hitting the theaters in August?
    Hmmm should be interesting!

    I just hope they don’t destroy the movie like they did in My Sister’s Keeper, another one of my all time fave books.

  2. The movies never are as good as the books eh?

    In her shoes, My sisters keeper, PS I love you, they were all decent movies but NOTHING compared to the books themselves!

    I am excited to see it but Im already hesitant, I just dont quite think they can get all of these beautiful thoughts and words onto film. Hopefully I eat my words!

  3. Kay

    Hi there, just wanted to say, I enjoyed this blog post. It was helpful.
    Keep on posting!

Leave a Reply

